Sydney, Australia πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί

Australia is a diverse land surrounded by the Indian and Pacific Oceans. It’s coasts are lined with incredible beaches and inland is such a vast wilderness, filled with many of the world’s deadliest species. It’s the 6th biggest country in the world so can make travelling round a little tricky and time consuming but, the coastal roads are definitely worth it!

Sydney was the first destination of a six month trip. It started with a 13 hour long London Heathrow to Hong Kong flight, a quick 1.5hour layover and another 8 hour flight Hong Kong to Sydney. The flight was uneventful and as I landed at 9pm Australian time I seemed to beat the worst part of jetlag.

It was abnormal being in a hot country for December and definitely didn’t feel Christmasy as I wandered the streets of Sydney lined with Christmas decorations.

Sydney, the capital of New South Wales is a city with so much to offer! With its iconic sail-like design of the Sydney Opera House in the Harbour and the Harbour Bridge joining two individual areas of the city, it’s a famous area bustling with waterside life.

I quickly got the hang of Sydney transport system and after enjoying a day to recover from flying I was keen to see the city. First stop, the famous Bondi Beach. Surfers from all over are drawn to the waves that crash onto the white sands of Bondi Beach. It’s somewhat mesmerising to sit and watch surfers catch the waves while others swim in the outdoor sea pool at the far end.

From Bondi I completed the Bondi to Coogee coastal walk. Admiring the various cliff side formations and occasionally stopping to dip in the water or soak up the 32 degree heat with a good book.

I also enjoyed the CBD of Sydney, jumping on board a free walking tour of the city winding our way through several famous landmarks and roads before finishing on the grass under the harbour 3 hours later. This was close to an area know as ‘The Rocks’ which was in full swing of a food market as I wandered back. I enjoyed a fresh made Greek lamb kofta pitta wrap and watched a couple play giant chess.

I spent time in the New South Wales art gallery in the Royal Botanical Gardens. Before admiring Mrs Macquarie’s chair and the unspoilt view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge across the water. I watched as the waterside hub of Sydney was alive with tours, water taxis and cruise ships.

I spent the odd evening South of Sydney catching my first Australian sunset on Stanwell Tops as the horizon and coast line glowed a vibrant orange. And enjoyed a road trip down to Wollongong to eat some food at the beach.

I travelled across the Harbour Bridge to North Sydney and Manly region a couple of times, hiking to Palm Beach lighthouse to take in the panoramic views. I spent time around Collaroy and Narrabeen. I cycled around Narrabeen lagoon and up to Long Reef Point where the paragliders threw themselves of the cliff edge. I caught up with a friend in Manly and enjoyed a drink at the sea front before catching the Manly ferry back to the city – so many modes of transport in one day!!

Week two I explored more of the city taking the pedestrian bridge into Darling Harbour which was a lively and quirky area filled with outdoor play and workout areas, bars, restaurants and of course the beautiful Chinese Gardens. I appreciated the peacefulness of the gardens and the beautiful landscaping in front of me.

Cronulla was an area I became very fond of. The chilled out beach vibe, quirky high street and easy access made it a place I regularly visited. I walked the coastal path around the mainland head stopping at Bass and Flinders point before finishing in Gunnamatta park, catching the sunset cast an orange glow over the docked yachts.

Sydney is an amazing city with so much to offer and so much left to explore so I will definiely be returning, but for now it’s time to get out the city head inland to the Blue Mountains and up the coast.

Author: hjtravelblog

Just a 20 something year old Physiotherapist from the UK seeing the world whilst having a full time job! - I quit my job November 2018 and travelled Asia, Indonesia and Australia ✈ - I returned in June 2019 and started working as a locum - Adventure 2019... Pending!

Leave a comment